Basic fill animation

I have a strip I want to use as a fill light, I’ve tried adapting a basic test script as im not a coder, and I can’t get it to work. I’ve tried using the strip fill animation, but I can’t get it to just tell the strip to light up x number of pixels x color and just… Not animate anything.
So I guess I just need advice on how to tell bibliopixel to light up a strip withouot an animation.

There’s a fill animation: https://github.com/ManiacalLabs/BiblioPixel/blob/master/bibliopixel/animation/fill.py
Please provide whatever script or project file you have tried so far.

NUMBEROFPIXELS = 140

import time
import bibliopixel
import bibliopixel.colors as colors
bibliopixel.log.setLogLevel(bibliopixel.log.DEBUG)
from bibliopixel.drivers.serial import *
driver = Serial(num = NUMBEROFPIXELS, ledtype = LEDTYPE.WS2812B, device_id = 0)
from bibliopixel.layout import *
led = Strip(driver)

try:
led.set_brightness(50)
for i in range(0,NUMBEROFPIXELS):
led.set(i,colors.White)
led.update()
time.sleep(0.01)
led.all_off()
led.update()
except KeyboardInterrupt:
led.all_off()
led.update()

And I know that gives me a sequential test updating the pixels white.
I tried inserting the fill animation lines instead of the last lines in this, but I just get syntax errors, which i’m not really sure how to correct.

Can you please show what those syntax errors are?

You can also just use led.fill(colors.White) to fill everything the same color.

led = Strip(driver)

try:
led.set_brightness(50)
for i in range(0,NUMBEROFPIXELS):
led.fill(colors.Red) )

Right sorry, that seems kind of obvious. I feel like this is probably an obvious coding thing, without the 2nd bracket I get an EOF error, so I thought the 2nd bracket closes the whole thing but its syntax is wrong :confused: