Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Power Requirment
Hi,
Im a newbie to some of this - so please be gentle!
I got my AllPixel via the KickStarter project and it arrived safe and well, parts soldered on and Python installed (even though the AVR driver was a pain!) - running Win7 64Bit.

I bought a strip of LED's from Ebay (Item: 151643082419) - however im a bit confused about the power.
Looking at the LED's I have 150 LED's @ 9 watt per meter, giving 45W, another video says allow 20%, so im looking for a 5V 60W transformer.

This is where the problem starts, most of the LED transformers are 12v, also most are listed on EBay from China.
The only one ive found close is Ebay Item : 231529048788

Please can anyone recommend a transformer I can use ?

Thanks
Mike.
Hi Mike! Happy to help out Smile

Power always is a little confusing with these.

First... You are definitely doing the right thing to assume extra power! Smile Never run your supply at max for long.
That being said, it's a little more complicated than that because the rated power for the strip is with every pixel at full white. Odds are, you aren't going to really do this most of the time. So it is technically possible to get away with a power supply rated LESS than what your strips say. Just be aware of what kind of animation you are running and back off on the brightness if you can. In bibliopixel, that's as easy as:

Code:
led.setMasterBrightness(64) #1/4 full brightness

I have a handful of both of these around and they work quite well for 5m strips of LEDs:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MOAR0M0/
https://www.adafruit.com/products/658

Beyond about 10A@5V you generally have to go a little more industrial and can't find enclosed wall adapters like that one.

Something like this works great, if you are OK with wiring on your own plug:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00N751734/