Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Led Strip - Random Colour
I'm a complete newb when it comes to electronics and python, but I thought I would share what I think is simple code that may help a beginner.

I'm running a WS2801 32 led strip via SPI on a Raspberry Pi.

I couldn't actually find any simple first time example to show off a simple animation...but then I didn't look too hard Dodgy Wink It was nearing midnight after a hard days work. Maybe there is something on Github.

This animation works for me. It's supposed to randomly select an led and fill with a random colour. Once the whole strip is coloured, it then works in reverse by switching a random led off. This whole process will continue to loop.

Like I said I'm a newb so if you hardcore Python programers are laughing, which I don't blame you, please provide some tips Smile. I didn't bother to create a class or define functions as in my opinion these layouts are easier to understand for a beginner, although you're more than welcome to correct me.

Code:
from bibliopixel.drivers.WS2801 import DriverWS2801
from bibliopixel.led import *
import random

led_number = 32
led = LEDStrip(DriverWS2801(num=led_number))

c = [colors.Red, colors.Green, colors.Blue]

while True:
    led_index = []

# Append 0 - led_number to led_index list, i.e [0, 1, 2, 3, 4, .., 31]
    for index1 in range(led_number):
        led_index.append(index1)

# Randomly select an led and color. The selected led is then removed from the list so it's not selected again.
    for each_led1 in range(led_number):
        x1 = random.choice(led_index)
        y1 = random.choice(c)
        led.set(x1, y1)
        led.update()
        led_index.remove(x1)

# Adjust the sleep time to speed up/down the effect
        time.sleep(0.05)

# Append 0 - led_number to led_index list again
    for index2 in range(led_number):
        led_index.append(index2)

# Randomly select an led and switch it off. The led_index is then removed.